What´s on

2022

 

Shrovetide (Saturday 19 February)

Shrovetide customs, a range of pig-feast products, the 24th year of the competition to find the Best Wallachian Sausage and the 14th year of the competition to find the Best Wallachian White Pudding.


Easter in Wallachia (Saturday 16 – Monday 18 April)

Holy Saturday – Easter fair with craft demonstrations.

Easter Sunday – the traditional Easter and spring customs performed by folklore groups.

Easter Monday – the traditional Dowsing the Girls with Water, with a programme of events.


Raising the Maypole (Monday 1 May, from 2.00 p.m.)

Traditional folk festivities.


Concert in Honour of the National Holiday (Monday 8 May, from 2.00 p.m.)

A performance by the Beskid Orchestra from the Primary School of the Arts in Rožnov pod Radhoštěm.


Museum Day (Wednesday 18 May)

Free admission to all areas. 


Spring at the Village (Saturday 21 May)


ABC of Crafts day (Saturday 28 May) 

A programme devoted to children who want to try out their skill. Free admission for schoolchildren to the age 15.


Church Night (Friday 28 May, from 7.00 to 10.00 p.m.)

With an organ concert.


Felling the Maypole (Monday 29 May) 

A performance by the folk group Zákopčan.


Ondráš’ Wallachian Axe (Friday 10 – Sunday 12 June)

A show featuring artistic and folk groups.


Midsummer’s Eve (Friday 24 June, from 9.00 p.m.)

A programme featuring mysterious midsummer and solstice customs.


Paths Of The Portáš Guards (Saturday 2 July from 2.00 p.m.)

An event dedicated to the 305th anniversary of the foundation of the Portáš Guards.


Echoes Of The Wallachian Pantheon (Sunday 3 July from 3.00 p.m.)

To mark the 100th anniversary of the birth of Ladislav Nezdařil.


Bell Fair (Tuesday 5 and Wednesday 6 July)

A gathering of potters, ceramicists, tinkers and beekeepers.


Heja’s Knife (Saturday 9 July)

The 22nd year of the gathering of folk carvers associated with a demonstration of their skills.


Glassmaking Day (Sunday 10 July)

Celebrating various glassmaking techniques and the handiwork of glassmakers on an outdoor kiln.


Baking Saturday (Saturday 16 July)

The 27th year of Baking Saturday, with the celebrations of the Guild of Bakers.


On A Nice Note (Sunday 17 July from 3.00 p.m.)

A concert to mark the 70th anniversary of the foundation of the BROLN orchestra.


Romany Song (Saturday 23 July)

The 28th International Festival.


Saint Anne’s Feast Day (Sunday 24 July)

Celebrations to mark Saint Anne’s Feast Day, with a costumed procession from All Saints’ Parish Church to Saint Anne’s Church and festivities in the Little Wooden Town. Saint Anne is the patron saint of Wallachia.


Craft Days and Gathering of Blacksmiths (Saturday 30 and Sunday 31 July)

The 31th year of the Craft Days, with a demonstration of traditional folk crafts that have yet to disappear completely.


Jánošík’s Ducat (Friday 5 – Sunday 7 August)

The 23nd International Festival of Slovak Folklore in the Czech Republic, the 21th Butter Churning Championship of the Kingdom of Wallachia.


Old-time Fair (Saturday 13 and Sunday 14 August)

A wide range of diverse funfair goods and an extensive programme of events and attractions for the whole family.


Wallachian FolkRocking (Saturday 20 August, from 5.00 p.m.)

Organised by T klub – cultural agency. www.tka.cz.


From the Other Side of Radhošť Hill (Sunday 21 August, from 2.00 p.m.)

Echoes of Frenštát Folk Festival.


 

Here’s To Gamekeeping! (Saturday 27 August)

Traditional and contemporary Czech gamekeeping.


The Band Played On (Sunday 4 September from 2.00 p.m.)

A gathering of Wallachian brass bands.


Autumn in the Field and the Cottage (Saturday 10 September)

Traditional autumn work, focusing this year on processing of linen.


Making Music with Soláň (Sunday 11 September, from 3.00 p.m.)

A performance by the folk group Soláň from Rožnov pod Radhoštěm and guest.


Cross-country Race in the Land of Emil Zátopek (Saturday 17 September)

The 20th memorial race commemorating the Olympic champion, free admission to the site.


Autumn Walks with Beetles (Friday 23 September, from 7.00 p.m.)

A children’s lantern procession with a programme prepared in co-operation with Rožnov Town Library. Free admission to the site.


Fountainheads (Saturday 24 September)

Competition for Wallachian folk groups.


We Are Still Young (Wednesday 28 September, from 3.00 p.m.)

A programme of events to mark International Day of Older Persons.


The Divine Flute (Friday 30 September – Sunday 2 October)

International Pan Flute Music Festival. Media partner Czech Radio Ostrava.


The Harvest from the Fields, Gardens and Orchards or the Wallachian Hortikomplex (Saturday 8 – Sunday 16 October)

Autumn produce show.


Candlelight Evening (Sunday 4 December, from 5.00 p.m.)

Ceremonial Christmas concert.


Saint Nicholas’ Eve (Monday 5 December, from 2.00 to 6.00 p.m.)

A tour of the site with Saint Nicholas’ presents. Free admission for children to the age of 15.


Christmas in the Village (Tuesday 6 – Friday 9 December and Monday 12 – Thursday 15 December)

A traditional programme exclusively for schools and groups with reservations, with demonstrations of winter work, Christmas preparations and Christmas customs. On-line registration from 20 September.


Christmas Fair (Saturday 10 and Sunday 11 December)

A range of gifts from traditional workshops, carol singing, processions of Lucias and demons, living history event in the Wallachian Village.


Nativity Play (Saturday 17 and Sunday 18 December, from 5.00 p.m.)

A folk play about the birth of Jesus taken from the Gospel According to Matthew.


Saint Stephen’s Day Carols (Monday 26 December, from 1.00 to 3.00 p.m.)

A Christmas concert in Saint Anne’s Church.

 

National Open Air Museum

Go to homepage